University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

The University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign is the largest and most prestigious campus in the university of Illinois system.
It is a public research university situated in Illinois, United States of America.
The University consists of seventeen colleges and offers around one hundred and fifty study programs. There are two hundred and eighty six buildings in the campus which spans over 1468 acres in the twin cities of Champaign and Urbana.
The University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign has an annual budget of around one and a half billion dollars.
In 1862, the Morril Act was passed that granted a portion of land to each state in America in order to build a public university where mechanics, arts and agriculture could be taught along with military training and other scientific and classical studies.
After due deliberation, Urbana was selected for building the new institution.
The university opened on 2nd March, 1868.
The initial number of faculty members was only two, who taught a small group of students.
Originally, the institution’s name was Illinois industrial university which was officially changed in 1885 to the University of Illinois. After almost a hundred years, the name of the institution was again changed to the University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign.
The University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign offers studies through several colleges.
• College of Agriculture, Consumer, and Environmental Sciences
• College of Applied Health Sciences
• Institute of Aviation
• College of Business
• College of Education
• College of Engineering
• College of Fine and Applied Arts
• Graduate College
• School of Labor and Employment Relations
• College of Law
• College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
• Graduate School of Library and Information Science
• College of Media
• College of Medicine at Urbana–Champaign
• School of Social Work
• College of Veterinary Medicine
The University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign is a unique landmark and is known for its landscape and architecture.
The research facilities are evenly divided between the twin cities of Urbana and Champaign. The university also has formal gardens and a conference center.
The University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign also has an airport which is located in Savoy. It was built in 1945 and started operations in 1954. The airport is used for university research projects in the institute of aviation. It also entertains flights from American Airlines.
The campus is a popular quadrangle design. The centre of the university comprise of four main quads that are arranged from North to South. The Beckman quadrangle is composed of research units and laboratories. It also features a huge solar calendar.
Main Programs
Programs of Study
The following is the information about the programs offered by the University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign.
Undergraduate Programs
• Majors
• Minors
• Pre professional Programs
Graduate Programs
• Majors
• Minors
• Concentrations
• Joint Degree Programs
• Online and Site-Based Graduate Programs

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Back to top